Book Habits Questionnaire

This questionnaire was created by The Literary Lollipop but I saw it on Thoughts of  a Book Junkie 🙂

1. Favorite childhood book: The Northern Lights by Philip Pullman

2. What are you reading right now? To Kill a Mockingbird

3. What books do you have on request at the library? None. I want to go in and request City of Ashes though.

4. Bad book habit: Starting fifteen different books at a time and leaving them all round my house. I have at least one book to read in every room I think.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library? Nothing, but I did read a book someone else checked out of the library… does that count?

6. Do you have an e-reader? Nope, unless my iPhone counts?

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once? I always have more than one book halfway through at a time. Current tally? 7.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog? Not really. I still read anything and everything. I now just have a much bigger TBR pile.

9. Least favourite book you read this year: What I Was, Meg Rosoff

10. Favorite book I’ve read this year: Tough choice… Going to go for Feed by Mira Grant.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone? Fairly often.

12. What is your reading comfort zone? YA/Urban Fantasy

13. Can you read on the bus? Last time I read on the bus, the bus nearly drove past my stop. Last time I read on a train I left my handbag on the train when I got off. Me and reading on public transport is not a winning combination…

14. Favourite place to read: On my sofa. While sunbathing on holiday is good too, but we can’t, unfortunately, have that every day.

15. What’s your policy on book lending? I lend books to my siblings, my cousins and my best friend. But no one else.

16. Do you dog ear your books? Not on purpose. They do tend to get that way though when they’ve been read a few times.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books? No… I had a friend who used to lend me books and asked me to write a score out of ten in the front. I could never bring myself to do it.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books? I’ve always wondered how you avoid doing this??

19. What is your favourite language to read? English. I wish I was fluent in another language enough to read but I’m not. My linguistic skills extend to one bad french joke (not even a rude one) and asking what you like to do in your spare time in German. Unfortunately, I wouldn’t understand the response.

20. What makes you love a book? Great characters, great plot, great world. A book can have any combination of these things and I’ll read it, but for me to truly love it it has to have all three.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book? If I really enjoyed it.

22. Favourite genre: YA Fantasy

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did): Non-Fiction. I really wish I was the sort of person who could demolish non-fiction books. It would help research for my writing. I generally make about a page before I get bored and resort to wikipedia.

24. Favourite Biography: I’ve read about three, two of which I was forced to and hated. The other was Billie Piper’s which I read when extremely bored. It was the most interesting and had pictures. So I’ll have to go for that one.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?) Can’t say I have.

30 How often do you agree with the critics about a book? Depends who they are. It’s all taste at the end of the day.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews? It’s really hard. I always try to say what I thought was good about a book, or what sort of person might enjoy it. But you have to be honest at the end of the day, and if something sucks, I have to just say so.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose? Chinese

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read: Um… I can’t think of one?

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin: I don’t think there’s a book I’d be nervous about reading.

35. Favourite Poet: I generally don’t get on with poetry but I did like Tim Burton’s poetry collection 😀

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time?

37. How often do you return books to the library unread? Not very often. If I bother to track down a book in the library, I generally really want to read it. I have returned a couple unread though. Well, unfinished.

38. Favourite fictional character: Matthew Swift from A Madness of Angels by Kate Griffin

39. Favourite fictional villain: Mrs Coulter from Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation: Ones that have been pushed down my TBR pile – have to read them if they’re all I have!

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading: A week maybe?

42. Name a book you could/would not finish: Attonement by Ian McEwan. Ugh.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading? Other people. I have to be alone to read.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel: My Sister’s Keeper. The book was okay, but a bit schmaltzy. The film was really good.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation: The Golden Compass. It wasn’t even close to the book.

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time: If music books count about £80, otherwise about £20.

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it? Almost all the time.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through? If I can’t get on with the writing style, or if the characters/plot/world building are all rubbish.

49. Do you like to keep your books organized? They are organised how I can fit most in my puny cuboards at the moment.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read? I’d love to keep them all, but since I moved out of my parents’ house, I’ve had to be more sparing with the ones I keep. My Mum has a big box in the loft that are mine, but I’ve been giving a lot to charity shops lately.

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding? Wuthering Heights. I have to read it for work, but I’m so not interested.

52. Name a book that made you angry: Breaking Dawn. What was up with the ending?

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did: Forbidden by Tabitha Suzuma

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading: Urban Fantasy. There are some great examples of it out there, but a lot of really bad examples, but I love most of them XD

5 thoughts on “Book Habits Questionnaire

  1. CaroleHolland says:

    18. By reading at really stupid angles in the middle of the book. Particularly if it is a very fat one. My dad and I very carefully did this with our First-Ed Hardback copy of Harry Potter five or six (I forget which) then my mum got hold of it and all our hard work was wasted within about 3 chapters…I’ve never bothered since!

    Like

  2. ketch1714 says:

    Lovely questionnaire! My dad highly respected his books. No dog ears or writing in the margins. Never left a book out or lay it open on a table. If I remember right, he avoided cracking the binding by opening the book no more then a 85 degree angle.
    I, of course, am not as good to my books, but they are loved 🙂 .

    Like

    • ketch1714 says:

      So – asked a friend. For not cracking the binding – it depends on the book. Generally, just open the book gently. And the big thing is not leaving it open with the pages face down. I just learn something 🙂

      Like

      • libertyfallsdown says:

        lol… I am terrible to my books – read them in the bath then throw them out of the bathroom to avoid them getting wet when I get out, leave them everywhere open with the pages face down, use my mobile phone as a bookmark, eat while reading them and spill dinner on them XD I’m only good to books I’ve borrowed!

        Like

Leave a Reply

