Review: The Seers by Julianna Scott

the seers

Title: The Seers

Author: Julianna Scott

Series: The Holders #2

Genre: YA Fantasy

Received for review from NetGalley

Summary (from Goodreads)

After nearly being drained of her ability and betrayed by a man her father trusted, Becca

Ingle was left with one clue — Ciaran Shea. He holds the key to the downfall of the power-mad Holder, Darragh, and can ensure the safety of both Holder and Human kind alike… but is he willing to help?

Becca, Alex, Jocelyn, and Cormac set out for Adare Manor to meet with the Bhunaidh, an aristocratic group of pure blooded Holders of whom Ciaran is a rumored member. However, when Becca discovers that they might not be the only ones after the information Ciaran has, everyone begins to wonder if Bhunaidh might not be as uninvolved with Darragh as they claim.

A race to uncover Ciaran’s secrets begins, where the line between friend and foe is blurred, and everyone seems to have their own agenda. Becca will have to call on every ability at her disposal to uncover the truth, all the while knowing that sometimes the answer is more dangerous than the question.

Review

Given that The Holders was one of my favourite books last year, and given my propensity to hate second outings in a series, I approached this with equal parts glee and trepidation. Fortunately, within a few pages, the glee won out.

Reading this series is like indulging in all the things I love: super powers, girl power, hot boys, swoony romance and intrigue. Yes, it will probably never win any awards, but who cares? I read to enjoy, and The Seers was just so enjoyable. I stayed up really late on a night when I really shouldn’t have just to finish it, and when the Boyfriend finally protested about the light still being on, I got up early the next morning to finish the final chapters before work.

The characters are great – Becca is stubborn, often stupid, and brave and adorable; Alex is gentle and troubled without lacking strength. The plot threw a couple of unexpected curveballs as well. I was just patting myself on the back for figuring out the direction Scott was going with two of the more minor characters when suddenly I was left reeling by a plot twist that left me simultaneously applauding it for the bravery, and hating it for the sadness that ensued. I love it when writing can punch you in the gut like that when you least expect it.

Overall, there was lots that I enjoyed here, and lots of promise for a great final instalment in the trilogy. I just can’t believe I now have to wait months and months before I can get my hands on it!!

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

